Marquise Series: Bead Cap 1 (2010)

Marquise Series: Bead Cap 1 (2010)
Sterling silver, fine silver
Constructed, cold-joined, woven
L 2.7 cm x W 2.6 cm

Last week’s project was about going beyond a simple marquise shape to a compound shape. This week, I’m going a step further and moving into working in 3D.

The original germ for this piece was a project I made in 2003 as a Secret Santa gift. The Cathedral Egg Pendant was made of two pieces, connected with bead links. Cathedral Egg was inspired by a piece, called “Gluttony”, which I had made for the “Heavenly Virtues/Deadly Sins” exhibition presented by Object Design Gallery the same year.

The ladder weaving here was very time consuming to do, but the effect is so nice!

I think this really needs to grace a fabulous lampwork bead by some superbly talented artist. The problem I’m finding is that I need a big bead: the base of this bead cap is almost (2.5 cm (1 inch) across. So, I’m on the hunt for something appropriate. It still needs to go into the tumbler to shine it up, but I wanted to get it posted.

Other views can be seen on my blog, a wrapturous blog. Thanks for looking!

Dianne
www.wrapturetutorials.com

January 10, 2010. 2010, Week 2 Due 1/10.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI